Leaving the Book Open

These are not my “final thoughts” on EDCI 569. I’ve decided not to have final thoughts on this course. I’ve decided not to put the info I’ve collected into a box and shelve it with “past information I have learned” in the storage cupboard of my mind. Instead, I am choosing to embrace 569 and how it has helped me to grow as a teacher, a learner and as a human being.

I have loved stories my whole life and, as I mentioned in the Learning Summary “Between Two Yuccas“, I love Doctor Who. One of my favourite quotes from this show honestly is “We’re all stories in the end, just make it a good one”. So instead of just loving this quote, I am choosing to live it, and I am using the tools, the ideas and connections this learning experience has given me to help me live my story.  I am opening up about my weight issues and my health on my health blog, and am finally letting people in on the struggles I have. Changing this to my learning project was, I believe, one of the best choices I have made in many years. Don’t get me wrong, it’s been hard, but I have had such fantastic support from the cohort, my FB and Kinderchat friends and complete strangers that I have felt a lightening of the load. I joined a support group on Yahoo for people who are “releasing” the weight as I am, and it’s nice to connect with others who share my struggles.  I’ve discovered podcasts that help me to think about how I got to where I am and how to get to where I want to be. I’m even considering yoga, thanks to Tanya Ross!  Now, I’m not quite sure that I’m ready to do a vlog yet or even another podcast post, but I am working on it. The courage is there, it just needs a little more time to bloom.

I’m ready to share. I have always felt conflicted about letting the world see what I do in my classroom, or in my life. I seem to have no problem posting pics of food I cook, but I back away from sharing the awesome things I work on in my Kindergarten class. This course has shown me that I am not bragging, but that I am connecting. People do not need to click my links and see what’s happening in K, but if they choose to and if they get an idea, then I have impacted their learning. And isn’t that what life is about? Connecting, sharing, learning, and growing? In the past, teaching has been solitary and insular, and it’s time that we show people what we do, how we facilitate and how we learn. The public needs to see the excitement and passion we have for 21st century learning. And, yes, we, the females in education, need to be just a little bit louder. After talking with Audrey Watters, I see that need even more.

I’ve learned so much this term that I haven’t talked about on the blog. Melody Watson inspired me to look at FreshGrade, and it’s now something I am starting to implement in my classroom, and hopefully, in some other classrooms in the school. I got a Smart Board and man, have I been searching on YouTube for videos on how to use this new, BIG piece of tech. I love it, by the way! In my own health challenge, I started logging my food in My Fitness Pal again to watch my portions, used my Fitbit way more this term, and am looking at relaxation techniques, thanks to Heidi James.

My emotions are close to the surface as I write this today, because I know that I haven’t shared how much I have grown in all of my blog posts. I can’t quite explain it, can’t wordsmith it out. IT’s hard to share this feeling that’s so big in a blog somehow. As I sit here, though, and I as I reflect on my time with Alec and the tiegrad cohort, I know I have changed. I have a new PLN who pushes me , challenges me, and accepts me, and for that I thank you, ReggioPLC. Every chat I have with them affects how I look at my teaching. The tiefit group has really encouraged me to move more, the chats on Blue Jeans have brought me such laughter. I know that what I really got the most of this past term has been the connections, the collaborations and the stories we have told. There is so much more to learn, read and do that I am merely turning the page, starting the next chapter, and leaving this book wide open.

Taken on my iPhone

Taken on my iPhone

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

mardelle sauerborn

Thinking out loud.

heidi echternacht

the personal and professional :: photography, posts, poetry, practice

My Kindergarten Bubble

My life as a kindergarten teacher

Geek My Gadget

Scouring the web for the latest geekware so you don't have to!

Pasir Ridge Intercultural School

We bring the world to our classrooms.

manteachingkindergarten

Just another WordPress.com site

applesandglue

Blogging about everything sweet and sticky...

STaRT Technology Learning Network

Learning Together Through Collaborative Inquiry

web.uvic.ca/~virvine/wordpress

Just another WordPress.com site

Oldfield's Wanderings

Objects in blog are closer than they appear

Catching Readers Before They Fall

Supporting Readers Who Struggle, K-4

Searching for Sunshine

@MauiMickey's Thoughts on Teaching, Family, Travel, Food & Everything Else

Not In A Blue Box

My Journey Documented Here

