Figuring It Out

My great intention of being on track this semester has been seriously derailed with the my current status of “the walking germ”. However, I seem to be on the road to recovery and can once again look at a computer screen without pain. So here I go, my first blog post for the new semester.

I had a very difficult time looking through the course syllabus for EDCI 569 because it offered so many choices that were appealing and challenging. I will admit, the amount of blogging had me extremely concerned for my already lacking FItBit numbers, but thankfully our illustrious professor alleviated my concerns. The idea of a “Personal Learning Inquiry” as a final project had me incredibley intrigued, confused and frustrated. There are so many things I want to learn and try, but I know how limited my time is as I am already starting down the path to better physical and emotional health (see my other blog) and am in year 2 of rethinking my teaching styles to a more open, facilitation role based on the ideas of Reggio Emilia, Hawkins and Dewey. Trying to fit in another learning path seemed time consuming and, yes, a lot stressful. I toyed with using one of those aforementioned learning journeys, trying to teach myself Klingon or Elvish (Yes, I really do want to learn those one day) and even thought I might try to conquer my piano nemesis: the Mozart Piano Sonatas.

A wonderful friend and classmate mentioned, in a chat, that she was enrolling in a MOOC. MOOCs scare me. The idea of online open learning with people I have never met worried me. I know, I’m in an online course with people I have never met (Except of course the Three Amigos), but to me tiegrad is different. It’s a safe enclosed group of people. I “knew” some of them from their online interactions. A MOOC just seems so…unknown and scary. Well, the Doctor says, “Fear is a superpower. Fear can make you faster and cleverer and stronger” (Doctor Who, Series 8, Listen), so I decided to look for a MOOC to join.

Minecraft for Educators is the MOOC through Canvas Network that I decided to join. I admit, I feel a little lost already as this is my first MOOC and my Minecraft experience is limited. I thought of a way I can incorporate the game into my “Nature Integration” project and I need to learn the ins and outs. I am really hoping this will address my learning needs. I will keep you posted and will most likely be looking to the Minecraft experts in this course for some help.

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “Figuring It Out

  1. pixiebertha says:

    So cool Liane. I love that you are taking this MOOC. Wish I had a million more hours so I could take it too. I’ll have to learn from my 8 year old. He’s a master if you need some tips and tricks!!!!!

    • Oh, I may be calling on your 8 year old. I am feeling a little lost already. I may need to pick your brain after class tomorrow for a minute.

      • pixiebertha says:

        Anytime girl.. sorry just got this now. He uses mostly the iPad for Minecraft. The PC is more challenging and not quite as user friendly. I think that creating your own server will prevent your creations from being destroyed… learned that the hard way with a major meltdown after he had completed his entire homework assignment, and it vanished!!!!

      • pixiebertha says:

        Anytime girl!!!!! I don’t know how much help I can be, but Carter might be able to help with ideas!!!

  2. Aw I was looking forward to learning Klingon from your posts! Minecraft will be good too though. Your students are going to love the new you:)

    • Thanks Alison! I haven’t entirely given up on the Klingon for Kindergarten idea. It might be a post grad study for me. I would sort of love to speak it…

      I am so excited to read about everyone’s journeys, but I may be in the “breaking my leg” club to find the time to do it!

Leave a Reply

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

mardelle sauerborn

Thinking out loud.

heidi echternacht

the personal and professional :: photography, posts, poetry, practice

My Kindergarten Bubble

My life as a kindergarten teacher

Geek My Gadget

Scouring the web for the latest geekware so you don't have to!

Pasir Ridge Intercultural School

We bring the world to our classrooms.

manteachingkindergarten

Just another WordPress.com site

applesandglue

Blogging about everything sweet and sticky...

STaRT Technology Learning Network

Learning Together Through Collaborative Inquiry

web.uvic.ca/~virvine/wordpress

Just another WordPress.com site

Oldfield's Wanderings

Objects in blog are closer than they appear

Catching Readers Before They Fall

Supporting Readers Who Struggle, K-4

Searching for Sunshine

@MauiMickey's Thoughts on Teaching, Family, Travel, Food & Everything Else

Not In A Blue Box

My Journey Documented Here

