Life-Tech Fit

Our Blog topic for this week focuses on the never ending debate on technology in the classroom. I emitted a very LARGE sigh when I read this, because I have been knee deep in this debate for a couple of years now. The topic of debate this time, however, is not centered around ”Play vs Tech”, but whether the technology we are using in class is contributing to the deterioration or development of student attention.

 In 2012, the PEW Research Centre’s Internet and American Life Project released a study titled, How Teens Do Research in the Digital World.  This study focused on teenagers and their research habits, but part of the survey asked for teachers’ views towards the broader impact of technology on their students. Out of 2500 teacher, “77% thought that the internet had a ‘mostly positive’ impact on students’ research work”. (Jefferies) Yet, despite this positive impact, “87% felt modern technologies were creating an “easily distracted generation with ‘short attention spans’.” (Jefferies) I confess I did not read the very long study by the PEW Centre, but from what I scanned, I noticed that these teachers were not referring to technology in the classrooms as the reason for the “short attention spans”. Perhaps, just perhaps, the lack of life-tech fit is the reason behind the attention deterioration. (Life-tech fit in my world is the ability to turn off the tech, and go have face to face contact, be in nature, clean the house. It is the ability to “balance” the instant gratification of tweeting, updating, instagramming with the long, drawn out process of being in the moment.)

 I look at the technology being used in the classrooms I have access to, and I have to say that I don’t believe it is deteriorating student attention. I see teachers using what we have to help inform students, aid in problem solving, assess knowledge and skills, and learn how to use technology in a respectful manner. In the article, Texting, TV and Tech Trashing Children’s Attention Spans, Ellen Galinsky refers to a teacher (Hope Molina-Porter) interviewed by the New York Times, regarding Ms. Molina-Porter’s altering of her teaching style to keep the attention of her learners. Ms. Galinsky has, in my opinion, the best answer to this perceived attention deterioration and it is “to teach children to pay attention and to be persistent!” In that vein, I see teachers who try to fit technology into their day as a learning tool.  These teachers, however, are still doing group projects, arts afternoons, science labs and many more activities where students are learning HOW to pay attention and HOW to regulate themselves so they can persist at a task.

 I firmly believe that we, as teachers, need to teach our students how to use this technology responsibly and respectfully. We also have to teach them though, when to turn the technology off, and to collaborate, communicate, create and to push through when things are difficult or challenging. As James P. Steyer said after releasing his organization’s study on children and digital media (Galinsky) “This survey is yet another reminder of how critical it is to consistently guide our kids to make good media choices and balance the amount of time they spend with any media and all of their other activities.”  

 I suppose this very wordy post needs an answer to the original debate topic. Do I think technology in the classroom will contribute to the deterioration of students attention OR help students attention for learning? After all of my pondering and reading, I think it will help student attention because I believe we will continue to use the technology as a tool fo better understanding, not as a digital behaviour plan or classroom management system.

 References:

 

http://www.pewinternet.org/files/old-media//Files/Reports/2012/PIP_TeacherSurveyReportWithMethodology110112.pdf

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/ellen-galinsky/kids-and-technology_b_2068862.html

 http://www.theguardian.com/teacher-network/teacher-blog/2013/mar/11/technology-internet-pupil-attention-teaching

 

 

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Life-Tech Fit

  1. Mardelle, I wrote mine earlier today, and now as I’m surfing I see yours. I laughed out loud, because we both emit sighs in our first paragraphs.
    I did sigh heavily, because I too have been engaged in this discussion for a long, long time. Conversations still exist in my staff room where teachers want to ban all phones and technology. They still happen! I don’t know why the fight to restrict completely has been such a lengthy one, and I don’t think it will ever address the real issue that it isn’t going away. Unless the entire world collapses in some epic catastrophic event, tech is here to stay. So, I feel like we have to use it, and find ways to use it in ways that transform and enrich, and go beyond the novelty,
    I agree completely that we need to work with our learners and colleagues to embrace a life-tech fit, and only use tech when it’s meaningful and purposeful. I think we need to constantly strike a balance, because there are times I myself struggle with maintaining a balance!

  2. Nick Zap says:

    Hello Liane – Being someone who’s been a big proponent for tech integration in the classroom for the past 15 years, I can empathize with your sigh. But there are larger issues that need to be considered over and about using technology for learning. One such issue is the lasting impact that constant stimulation, alerts, and notifications will have on students social, physiological, and behavioural development. As another blog mentioned, smart phones are creating a huge classical conditioning experiment where our students are “Pavlov’s dogs” reacting to every bell and whistle. What will be the repercussions of students wanting and needing constant instant gratification and stimulation. There are even some who say technology is leading to a rising number of students with ADD, ADHD. Although technology is just another tool, and yes a powerful one is used correctly, it is a tool that may have implications we have not considered fully. Great post!

Leave a Reply

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

mardelle sauerborn

Thinking out loud.

heidi echternacht

the personal and professional :: photography, posts, poetry, practice

My Kindergarten Bubble

My life as a kindergarten teacher

Geek My Gadget

Scouring the web for the latest geekware so you don't have to!

Pasir Ridge Intercultural School

We bring the world to our classrooms.

manteachingkindergarten

Just another WordPress.com site

applesandglue

Blogging about everything sweet and sticky...

STaRT Technology Learning Network

Learning Together Through Collaborative Inquiry

web.uvic.ca/~virvine/wordpress

Just another WordPress.com site

Oldfield's Wanderings

Objects in blog are closer than they appear

Catching Readers Before They Fall

Supporting Readers Who Struggle, K-4

Searching for Sunshine

@MauiMickey's Thoughts on Teaching, Family, Travel, Food & Everything Else

Not In A Blue Box

My Journey Documented Here

