Time to Regenerate

Once again, I am tasked with answering a question that I am not sure I know the answer to. I am struggling to find my “why”. My apologies if this post rambles or jumps, but I am determined to try and make some sense of this question, “Why learn Learning Design?”

From what I have read and seen so far, I like the idea of Learning Design. In the beginning of January, I read the course outline and made a leap of assumption that Learning Design was akin to unit planning. I think my brain still holds that view. I am a graduate from UVic Education, and we were taught how to plan a unit. We went through process after process to show that we knew how the progression of lessons should go. I can look back at my large plans full of outcomes, resources, activities, and assessments painstakingly penciled in, ready to be used when needed. I look at my understanding of learning design and see similarities between it and unit planning. I may be off base by a mile, but that is how I see it.

So, why learn Learning Design? The more I sit and ponder what to say and how to write what I know in my gut, the harder it is for me to put on paper.

I know how to plan. I know how to use my dramatic sense of being to grab a child’s interest. I know that play is the most important tool I can use with my students. I know that I am creative, and most of the time, willing to take a risk. If you take all of that, and toss it into a big ole pot you get my “why”. The planning of my past is incomplete for 2014. It needs an upgrade. It needs to reach the students of this era differently, and it needs to encompass what I now believe in for my students. The plans I made in my past do not follow the philosophy I now hold. I need to learn how to change the “how” of my teaching while questioning the “why” I am teaching it. As Doctor Who says, “Life depends on change and renewal.” I see that I need to change and renew my practice to stay current and to regenerate into a better, more effective facilitator of learning.

Tagged

One thought on “Time to Regenerate

  1. How awesome that you used a Dr. Who analogy of regeneration to describe what is happening to us thin EDCI 335! You are correct. This is a time of renewal and inspiration for us, and the coursework is making us think about our teaching and planning in a new way. Regeneration isn’t always bad…just when your favourite Dr. goes POOF!

Leave a Reply

roads bel travelled

Exploring open roads without breaking the bank

mardelle sauerborn

Thinking out loud.

heidi echternacht

the personal and professional :: photography, posts, poetry, practice

My Kindergarten Bubble

My life as a kindergarten teacher

Geek My Gadget

Scouring the web for the latest geekware so you don't have to!

Pasir Ridge Intercultural School

We bring the world to our classrooms.

manteachingkindergarten

Just another WordPress.com site

applesandglue

Blogging about everything sweet and sticky...

STaRT Technology Learning Network

Learning Together Through Collaborative Inquiry

web.uvic.ca/~virvine/wordpress

Just another WordPress.com site

Oldfield's Wanderings

Objects in blog are closer than they appear

Catching Readers Before They Fall

Supporting Readers Who Struggle, K-4

Searching for Sunshine

@MauiMickey's Thoughts on Teaching, Family, Travel, Food & Everything Else

Not In A Blue Box

My Journey Documented Here

